Niamh, aged 13

You can contribute to peace: what actions are you taking in your surroundings, your school, your city or at the international level?

Making peace starts with me

Caring – being caring will help me care about people and their feelings.
Principled – being principled will make me see what’s right and what’s wrong.
Open-minded – being open-minded will teach me how to act when receiving other ideas and opinions.
Reflecting – reflecting makes me realise what I have done well and how I can improve.
Communicator – being a communicator will help to stop arguments or any sort of conflict with just my voice.
Inquirer – being an inquirer will help me to find out what’s going on in the world.
Thinker – it will help me to think about consequences for my actions.
Risk-taker – being a risk-taker will make me try something that I’m not sure about and will give me the confidence to stand up for what I believe in.
Knowledgeable – it informs me on what’s going on in a country knowing the conflicts that take place.
Balanced – ensuring I am calm and at ease in my own life. Helping me to focus on what I can do to help.

About UN News Geneva

Sharing entires to the United Nations Peace Essay competitions run by the Information Service in Geneva in 2011
This entry was posted in 11, 12, 13 year olds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

