Karen, aged 13

“You have not done enough, you have never done enough, as long as there is still something to which you can contribute.”
-Dag Hammarskjöld

Now if I had a rainbow dream catcher,
Swaying in the wind by my open window,
I’d want it to scare away my nightmares.
Those which meander in my mind at night
And the ones I fear from turning real.

I’d want it to banish the vision I have quite often.
That on some very ordinary day,
The aid workers and all the people trying to help,
Would give up.
And leave us with our problems,
Because they think they’ve done enough,
Or because the news is getting old.

I know it sounds slightly selfish to say considering all that’s happening,
But I endeavor to become an astronaut one day,
I wish to fly to space
And explore.

Well,
Mum told me that it may not be too easy to accomplish,
Because those who make the decisions
Aren’t able to simply harmonize and cannot solve their problems.

She also told me that there are people trying to help us.
And I promised her,
That if I ever become an astronaut,
I will fly to space and bring a little bit of the moon for each one that helped us.

The problem is,
I don’t have a rainbow-coloured dream catcher.
I don’t have a window either.

And even if I did, I’d probably give it to someone else,
Because there are countless numbers of people without dream catchers,
And they have even worse nightmares, which they need to keep away.

About UN News Geneva

Sharing entires to the United Nations Peace Essay competitions run by the Information Service in Geneva in 2011
This entry was posted in 11, 12, 13 year olds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

