Xavier, aged 15

“Our work for peace must begin within the private world of each one of us. To build a world without fear, we must be without fear. To build a world of justice we must be just.” – Dag Hammarskjöld  

During 1949, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (N.A.T.O) was formed. N.A.T.O  was created during the cold war, to stop communism from spreading and taking over  other countries. The Original Twelve nations that were in N.A.T.O from the start were;Belgium,Luxembourg,Canada,Netherlands,Denmark,Norway,France,Portugal,Iceland,United Kingdom,Italy,United States.

The Berlincrisis was over but Russian influence over eastern and central Europewas not affected. The suspicion of the western world about the Russians remained. In other news; On May 11th,Israel joined the United Nations, as it’s 59th member. On May12th The Soviet Union lifts it’s blockade ofBerlin. On August 29th the Soveit union tests it’s first Atomic bomb, codenamed “Joe 1”, designed to imitate the bomb that was drop onNagasaki in 1945.

September 13th The soviet union vetoed United Nations Membership for; Ceylon, Finland, Iceland, Italy, Jordan and Portugal.

On October 17th Cival war ends in Greece with a Communist surrender.


About UN News Geneva

Sharing entires to the United Nations Peace Essay competitions run by the Information Service in Geneva in 2011
This entry was posted in 15 year olds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s